In mid-1948 preparatory and conceptual meetings were held in the Sun Room of the Palliser Hotel for what would become the Calgary Petroleum Club. At this time, the first President of the Club was Mr. John H. Bevel, who was the General Agent for the Canadian Gulf Oil Company. The first Vice-President was Mr. S.F. Heard, President of Royalite Oil Company Limited. In 1949 the Calgary Petroleum Club incorporates under the Societies Act of Alberta.
The Petroleum Club and Renfrew Club merge and continue to operate under the Petroleum Club. After the merger, business was conducted on the second floor of the Motor Car Supply building on Sixth Avenue South West.
A clubhouse opens at 319 Fifth Avenue South West, where the Club continues to operate today.
A second story addition to the building is completed. The Members own both the building and the land.
After a fire in the loading dock, that consists, mostly of smoke damage to the rest of the building, restorations to the Club take four and a half months to complete.
The billiards room is replaced with the Club’s gem, our Wine Cellar Dining Room.
At the Club’s 2014 Annual General Meeting, a motion is passed to introduce a Young Professionals Membership. Within a year, 150 Members sign up.
We continue to be an exclusive club, offering a vibrant gathering place for our business community. The Club welcomes men and women from all industries and backgrounds to apply for Membership.